IFWTWA Excellence in Journalism Award Logo

The IFWTWA EXCELLENCE IN JOURNALISM AWARD, launched on January 1, 2015, recognizes excellence in journalism for IFWTWA regular members. This is a self-nomination program.

Eligibility Criteria:

  • Must be a regular member of IFWTWA in good standing (membership dues paid)
  • Must complete and submit the “Excellence in Journalism Nomination Form” (see below)
  • Must submit a published article (in print or online) or blog post on the subject of food, wine or travel, or any combination (articles published in Global Writes are eligible)
  • Publication date must be within two years of the nomination date
  • Nominee must pay a $15 (USD) administrative fee per entry
  • There is no limit to the number of entries a regular member may submit in a given year
  • An entry submitted in one year that does not win the award may be resubmitted in subsequent years
  • Nominations must be received between January 1 and October 31 to be considered for that year’s award
  • Nominations received after October 31 will be considered for the following year’s award
  • Nominations must consist of a completed online nomination form (see below) and the article entry (either in the form of a link or an attached file)

Evaluation Criteria:

Each entry will be carefully and objectively evaluated by the IFWTWA Awards Committee using a standard set of evaluation criteria. Evaluation includes the following elements:

  • Technical elements (grammar, spelling, punctuation)
  • Originality and creativity in treatment of subject
  • Clarity and structure of composition
  • Accuracy of facts and details

Award Description:

Excellence in Journalism Award winners will receive:

  • A cash prize
  • An announcement on the IFWTWA website, Press Pass, social media and via press release, with a link to the winning entry (if online)
  • An Excellence in Journalism Award certificate signed by the IFWTWA President

The number of awards given in a year will be at the discretion of the IFWTWA Awards Committee

Submit Nomination and Payment

To proceed with a nomination and payment, please click here:
Excellence in Journalism Award Nomination Application